Scroll to Top

Exhibitions

AI WEIWEI

translocation – transformation

14 July 2016 to 20 November 2016
21er HausBelvedere

"Everything is art. Everything is politics", says Ai Weiwei (born in 1957), one of the world’s most famous contemporary artists. As a conceptual artist, documentarian and activist, his works deal not only critically with the history, culture and politics of his homeland China, they also react to social realities of migration between countries and continents. Through November 20, 2016, the 21er Haus presents his first major solo exhibition in Austria.

Central to translocation – transformation is the metamorphosis provoked by expulsion, migration, and deliberate change of location that is undergone by people and objects alike. The subject of transformation pervades throughout the life and work of Ai Weiwei; from his childhood, his beginnings in New York, his return to China, his time under house arrest, until his release from state custody and his migration to Berlin.

The main work in the middle of the 21er Haus’ large exhibition hall represents the installation, Wang Family Ancestral Hall. It shows an ancestral temple from the late Ming Dynasty, whose main hall will be accurately reconstructed. The 14-meter tall wooden temple consists of over 1,300 individual pieces and will be presented for the first time outside of China. The old temple belonged to the Wang family, an important tee merchant clan from the southern province of Jiangxi. During China’s Cultural Revolution, the family was expelled and the temple left to deteriorate. Ai Weiwei bought the building from an investor and then carried it over into his artistic context. Removed from its original function, his process of translocation endowed it with new meaning. A decisive factor for the choosing of this work was the similarity of its history to that of the 21er Haus. Also originally intended to be destroyed, it was the Austrian pavilion built for the 1958 World’s Fair in Brussels that was relocated to Vienna and adapted to become the contemporary art museum we know today. Two other works at the 21er Haus refer to China’s tea culture, thereby invoking the original proprietor of the ancestral hall. The Teahouse is made from pressed Pu-Erh-Tea. Spouts is an assembly of thousands of broken antique teapot spouts, which are spread like a carpet over the floor of the exhibition space.

In the park of the Upper Belvedere Ai Weiwei addresses the current refugee issues with the work F Lotus, an installation composed of 1,005 worn life jackets. Arranged in the shape of the letter F, each one of the 201 rings is comprised of five individual jackets, which float like lotus blossoms on the waters of the baroque ponds. (Due to weather conditions the installation can be seen until Sunday, 6 November, 2016).

This site-specific work is surrounded by Circle of Animals/Zodiac Heads, an ensemble of twelve bronze heads from the Chinese zodiac. The staircase of the Upper Belvedere is where Ai Weiwei has released three creatures into the air to roam. The delicate sculptures were made by hand in the style of traditional Chinese kites. Thin bamboo bars form the frame and are covered with silk. The figures are a representation of the many mythical creatures from the Shanhaijing ("The Classic of Mountains and Seas"), the oldest recorded collection of Chinese mythology.

Curated by Alfred Weidinger.

#aiww21

zum Inhalt springen

Ausstellungen


AI WEIWEI

translocation – transformation

14. Juli 2016 bis 20. November 2016
Belvedere 21Belvedere

"Alles ist Kunst – alles ist Politik", so Ai Weiwei (* 1957), der zu den international bekanntesten Künstlern der Gegenwart zählt. Als Konzeptkünstler, Dokumentarist und Aktivist setzt er sich nicht nur kritisch mit Geschichte, Kultur und Politik seiner Heimat China auseinander, sondern reagiert auch auf gesellschaftliche Realitäten wie aktuell die Fluchtbewegung zwischen Ländern und Kontinenten. Bis 20. November 2016 präsentiert das 21er Haus seine erste große Einzelpräsentation in Österreich. test

Begleitender Blog zur Ausstellung - www.aiww21.com

Im Zentrum von translocation – transformation stehen die Veränderungsprozesse, die durch Ortswechsel, Vertreibung und Migration ausgelöst werden, ob nun bei Menschen oder an Objekten. Das Thema der Transformation zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch Leben und Werk Ai Weiweis: von seiner Kindheit, den Anfängen in New York über seine Rückkehr nach China, die Zeit unter Hausarrest bis zu seiner Entlassung aus der Staatshaft und zur Migration nach Berlin.

Das Hauptwerk inmitten der großen Ausstellungshalle im 21er Haus bildet die Installation Wang Family Ancestral Hall. Sie zeigt eine Ahnenhalle aus der Zeit der späten Ming-Dynastie, deren Haupthalle originalgetreu wiederaufgebaut wurde. Die 14 Meter hohe Konstruktion aus Holz, die aus über 1.300 Einzelteilen besteht, ist zum ersten Mal außerhalb Chinas zu sehen. Das Ahnenhaus gehörte einst der Familie Wang, bedeutenden Teehändlern aus der südlichen Provinz Jiangxi. Während der Landreform wurde die Familie vertrieben, und die Ahnenhalle verfiel. Ai Weiwei kaufte das Gebäude von einem Investor und übertrug es in den Kunstkontext. Seiner ursprünglichen Funktion enthoben erhält es nun durch den Prozess der Translozierung eine neue Bedeutung. Ausschlaggebend für die Auswahl dieser Arbeit war die Parallele zur Geschichte des 21er Haus. Der für die Weltausstellung 1958 in Brüssel konstruierte Länderpavillon sollte zunächst verschrottet werden, wurde dann jedoch nach Wien verlegt und als Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst adaptiert. Zwei weitere Arbeiten im 21er Haus beziehen sich auch auf die Teekultur in China und damit auf die ursprünglichen Besitzer der Ahnenhalle: Teahouse mit zwei Häusern aus gepresstem Pu-Erh-Tee auf einem Feld loser Teeblätter sowie Spouts. Diese Installation setzt sich aus tausenden abgebrochenen Schnäbeln von antiken Teekannen zusammen, die auf dem Boden wie ein Teppich ausgebreitet sind.

Im Park des Oberen Belvedere greift Ai Weiwei das aktuelle Flüchtlingsthema mit F Lotus auf, einer Installation aus 1.005 gebrauchten Schwimmwesten. Angeordnet wie ein kalligrafisches F schwimmen die 201 Ringe aus jeweils fünf Westen wie Lotusblüten auf dem Wasser des barocken Bassins. (Aus Witterungsgründen ist die Installation nur bis Sonntag, 6. November 2016 zu sehen).

Umsäumt wird die ortsspezifische Arbeit von Circle of Animals/Zodiac Heads mit Bronzeköpfen der zwölf Tiere aus dem chinesischen Horoskop. Im Treppenhaus des Oberen Belvedere lässt Ai Weiwei drei Kreaturen wie Drachen steigen. Die Figuren aus Bambus und Seide stellen Fabelwesen aus dem Shanhaijing ("Klassiker der Berge und Meere") dar, der ältesten überlieferten Sammlung chinesischer Mythologie.

Kuratiert von Alfred Weidinger.

#aiww21