zum Inhalt springen

Museum & Palace

The two Belvedere palaces were built in the early eighteenth century by the famous Baroque architect Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt to be used as the summer residence of Prince Eugene of Savoy (1663–1736). One of Europe’s most stunning Baroque landmarks, this ensemble – comprising the Upper and Lower Belvedere and an extensive garden – is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Today the Belvedere houses the greatest collection of Austrian art dating from the Middle Ages to the present day, complemented by the work of international artists such as Claude Monet, Vincent van Gogh, and Max Beckmann. Highlights from the holdings Vienna 1880–1914 are the world’s largest collection of Gustav Klimt’s paintings (including the famous golden Art Nouveau icons the Kiss (Lovers) and Judith) and works by Egon Schiele and Oskar Kokoschka. Key works of French Impressionism and the greatest collection of Viennese Biedermeier art are further attractions on display at the Upper Belvedere.

Lower Belvedere and the former Orangery are venues for top temporary exhibitions. These shows focus on presenting Austrian art in an international context, as defined in the Belvedere’s original mission back in 1903 (when it was founded as the Moderne Galerie. They comprise retrospective shows of Austrian artists, based on research into their work and significance, and major thematic exhibitions exploring key movements and epochs in art.

An insight into medieval art can be gained at the Medieval Treasury, opened in 2007 at the former Palace Stables that once accommodated Prince Eugene’s personal horses. This study collection gives the public access to the Belvedere’s entire holdings of medieval art.

Upper Belvedere, Northside

Upper Belvedere

The plan to build the Upper Belvedere in its present form replaced the original idea of a gloriette “with a beautiful view over the city”. Construction took place between 1717 and 1723. In the days of Prince Eugene, the Upper Belvedere primarily served the purposes of prestige and display; in the second half of the 1770s, it was adapted to house the Imperial Picture Gallery.
Paintings were transferred from the Stallburg to the Upper Belvedere and the gallery was open to the public.

Today, the Upper Belvedere houses the permanent displays showcasing masterpieces from the Belvedere’s collection dating from the Middle Ages to the present. The highlight is the collection of paintings by Klimt with the iconic Kiss.

Lower Belvedere

Lower Belvedere

The construction of the Lower Belvedere took place between 1712 and 1716. The architect was Johann Lucas von Hildebrandt, who designed many of Prince Eugene’s buildings and was Austria’s greatest Baroque architect together with Johann Bernhard Fischer von Erlach.

The Lower Belvedere was accessed from Rennweg through the central gate, embellished with coats of arms and initials, into the cour d’honneur and from there the entrance originally led directly into the Marble Hall. While the Lower Belvedere was a residence, the Upper Belvedere was primarily designed for the purpose of prestige and display. Parts of the prince’s collections were also housed in the Lower Belvedere.



The Orangery was originally a winter garden that could be heated. As the south façade and roof could be removed in summer, the orange trees could stay in situ and did not have to be carried out of the building.

Although convertible buildings with heating to house sensitive plants in winter were known in Italy and Germany as far back as the sixteenth century, assembling and dismantling parts of these structures was very laborious. Prince Eugene’s Orangery was a masterpiece of carpentry and greatly simplified the process using sliding constructions and other contraptions.

After Prince Eugene’s death, the orange trees were transferred to Schönbrunn and his Pomeranzenhaus was converted into stables. A false ceiling was installed in 1805 and the original sliding roof was replaced. After 1918, this building housed parts of the Moderne Galerie; from 1953 to 2007 it was the Museum of Medieval Art. In 2007, the architect Susanne Zottl designed a modern, white cube exhibition space in the Orangery.

Palace Stables

The Palace Stables, once home to the prince’s horses, were adapted into a study collection by Berlin architect Kuehn Malvezzi in 2007. This complements the permanent displays of Gothic masterpieces at the Upper Belvedere with the result that, except for a few objects that cannot be exhibited, the entire collection is on show.

The study collection comprises approximately 150 works, ranging from a Romanesque crucifix to Late Gothic panel paintings and sculptures, and even including an altarpiece that reveals the forms of the Renaissance. There are works by prominent masters, such as Friedrich Pacher, and many by anonymous painters and sculptors. At the Palace Stables, study exhibitions are regularly staged that focus on a single object or ensemble and revolve around the museum’s core roles of conservation and research. The series Currently Restored showcases works from the Belvedere’s collection and has included the Vienna Christmas Relief from Hans Klocker’s workshop, the Late Gothic sculptures Virgin and Child with Saint Anne by the Master of Heiligenblut, the Abtenau Altarpiece by Andreas Lackner, and the Fragment of the Lenten Veil by Thomas of Villach.


Inside View Studio Herbert Boeckl, 2014

Atelier Herbert Boeckl

With his prolific oeuvre, spanning from the First World War to the 1960s, Herbert Boeckl (1894–1966) ranks among the chief exponents of Austrian modernism. Besides portraits, landscapes, nudes, and still lifes, Boeckl conceived a great variety of originary motifs.

For over 30 years the artist worked in his studio at the Argentinierstraße in Vienna’s 4th district. Since 2014 the studio belongs to the Belvedere. His workplace presents itself today in its original condition, as the artist left it behind. Easels, old paint tubes, brushes, books, and other painting utensils as well as furniture can still be seen on site.

Research Center

Belvedere Research Center

The Research Center for Austrian Art in the Belvedere combines the classic museum tasks of collection, preserving and research in one place, creating new synergies in this way. The extensive holdings provide a unique overview of Austrian art from the fourteenth to the twenty-first centuries.

Users of the Research Center can consult the collections and also take advantage of the expertise of the staff in the Archive, Library, Picture Archive and Digital Collection. The material contained and studied in these departments is extensively available in databases.