Scroll to Top

Exhibitions


Daniel Richter

Lonely Old Slogans

03 February 2017 to 05 June 2017
21er HausBelvedere
Daniel Richter is one of the most important painters of his generation, and of great significance for Vienna, not only because of his professorship at the Academy of Fine Arts. With the exhibition Daniel Richter – Lonely Old Slogans, the 21er Haus presents for the first time in Vienna a comprehensive retrospective of the artist’s work. Conceived as a travelling exhibition, the show will start at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebaek and then the works will be shown at the 21er Haus between February 3 and June 5, 2017. The last stop of the exhibition will be the Camden Arts Center in London.
Structured as a retrospective, the exhibition seeks to document Richter’s evolution from his earliest works through the present. Included are the edgy and expressive abstractions of the 1990s that reflect his occupation as a designer of album covers for various punk rock bands and theatrical figurative scenes. The most recent series of works, from 2015, are dedicated primarily to the human figure and erotic corporeality.

Richter, invariably a politically motivated painter, describes his theatrical works as a new form of History Painting. The representation of a concrete historical event, however, has been lost. Instead, the pictures are trying to capture a specific spirit or atmosphere in contemporary history, characterized by the absence of any grand political utopian ideas.

The exhibition is a collaboration of the 21er Haus by the 21er Haus Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk (DK) and the Camden Arts Centre in London (UK).

Curated by Axel Köhne.

#oldslogans21

Scroll to Top

Ausstellungen

Daniel Richter

Lonely Old Slogans

03. Februar 2017 bis 05. Juni 2017
21er HausBelvedere
Daniel Richter ist einer der wichtigsten Maler seiner Generation und für Wien nicht zuletzt aufgrund seiner Professur an der Akademie der bildenden Künste von großer Bedeutung. Mit der Ausstellung Daniel Richter – Lonely Old Slogans zeigt das 21er Haus erstmals eine umfassende Werkschau des Künstlers in Wien (Österreich). Die als Wanderausstellung konzipierte Schau wird zunächst im Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk gezeigt, macht dann von 3. Februar bis 5. Juni 2017 Station im 21er Haus und wird danach in das Camden Arts Centre in London weiterreisen.
Die Ausstellung ist als Retrospektive angelegt und soll Richters Entwicklung von den frühesten Arbeiten bis heute dokumentieren. Gezeigt werden die unruhigen, expressiven Abstraktionen der 1990er-Jahre, die an seine damalige Tätigkeit als Gestalter von Plattencovers verschiedener Punkrock-Bands denken lässt, bis hin zu theatralischen figurativen Szenen. Die jüngste Werkserie in der Ausstellung aus dem Jahre 2015 widmet sich vor allem der menschlichen Figur und der erotischen Körperlichkeit.

Richter, der immer auch ein politisch motivierter Maler war und ist, beschrieb seine theatralischen Arbeiten als eine Art Historienmalerei im neuen Stil. Wobei die Repräsentation eines konkreten historischen Ereignisses im Bild allerdings abhandengekommen ist. Die Bilder versuchen vielmehr einen bestimmten Geist, eine bestimmte Stimmung der zeitgenössischen Geschichte einzufangen, die vom Verschwinden der großen politischen Utopien gekennzeichnet ist.

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation des 21er Haus mit dem Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk (DK) und dem Camden Arts Centre in London (UK).

Kuratiert von Axel Köhne.

#oldslogans21